Marriage License Info
If you wish to apply for a marriage license in any Texas County both applicants should be present. They will need proper identification such as a driver’s license, a certified copy of the birth certificate (not a hospital record), or a passport. They will also ask for social security numbers.
You can purchase your license in any county in Texas and get married in any other county in Texas.
If you are 16 years or older but under 18 years of age, a parent will have to sign the consent form. The parent will also need to bring a driver’s license or I.D. card for proper identification. If the natural parents are divorced, the parent given custody must give the written consent. The parent will need to bring the custody papers and proper identification.
In the state of Texas, there is a 30 day waiting period after a divorce is final. They can issue the license on the 31st day from the final date. If the applicants are remarrying each other then it does not apply. Once a marriage license has been issued by the County Clerk’s office, it is valid for 90 days from the issue date and is valid in any other county in the state of Texas. (Texas family code 2.001) Per Texas law, there is a 72-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony may take place, except in the instances of the following exceptions:
- If the applicants obtain a written waiver from a judge.
- If one of the applicants is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States; the active-duty military person must show identification.
- If the applicants submit the premarital education course certificate from Twogether in Texas.
- If applicants are remarrying each other.
- Both parties must be present for the marriage ceremony, except in the instance where one party is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation and unable to attend the ceremony. Then an adult representative may be appointed to act as a proxy in the ceremony. Officiant The ceremony may be performed by the parties’ officiant of choice.
Marriage License Waiting Period :
There is a required 3-day waiting period between the time a marriage license is obtained and the ceremony (Texas Family Code, Chapter 2, Section 2.204 ).
For full details on the requirements to receive a license, please review the requirements for a marriage license application in Bexar County document.
The fee in cash or credit card:
Marriage License: $81.00
Informal Marriage License: $46.00
For additional information, please call 210-335-2223.
To access a recorded message, please call 210-335-2221.
Complete a marriage license application;
Both parties appear together at the county clerk’s office located at 5501 Airport Boulevard, Austin, TX 78751 once an appointment is scheduled;
Provide a proof of identity using documents approved by state law, See list;
Not be divorced within the last 30 days (or provide a waiver);
Not presently married to someone other than the other applicant;
Not related to the other applicant;
Be 18 years or older to obtain a marriage license. Effective September 1, 2017, Texas Family Code 2.003 states, A person under the age of 18 years of age may not marry unless the person has been granted by this state or another state a court order removing the disabilities of minority of the person for general purposes.
Once the application has been submitted, please click here to schedule an appointment.
Is a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty;
Performs work for the United States Department of Defense as an employee or contract worker;
Obtains a written waiver from a judge of a court with jurisdiction in family law cases, a justice of the supreme court, a judge of the court of criminal appeals, a county judge, or a judge of a court of appeals;
Completes a premarital education course described by Texas Family Code Section 2.013 and provides the County Clerk with a course completion certificate indicating completion of the course within one year of the date the marriage license application is filed with the Clerk.
Marriage License Expiration:
A marriage license is valid for 89 days from the date it is issued;
A marriage license expires if it has not been used before the 90th day after it was issued;
If a couple wishes to marry after the expiration date, a new license must be purchased.
After the Ceremony:
The marriage license must then be returned to the Travis County Clerk’s Office within 30 days from the ceremony date. The license will be recorded into public records and returned to you.
Return Address for completed marriage license:
Travis County Clerk
P.O. Box 149325
Austin, TX 78714
$81.00 license fee;
$21.00 with completed premarital education course (Texas Twogether Program). Must present certificate at time of issuance of license;If you have questions regarding these forms or a situation not described above please contact our office at (512) 854-9188.
Marriage License Fees:
$82.00 – wo/ Premarital Course Certificate
$22.00 – w/ Premarital Course Certificate
$47.00 – Informal Marriage (Common Law)
405 Martin Luther King Blvd
Georgetown, TX 78613
8:00 am – 5:00 pm / M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)